Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 1:19 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2006 3:26 pm 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2005 4:40 pm
Posts: 46
Location: Germany
Hi,

on askwartemp's Webside http://alexander.skwar.name/~askwar/linkstation/packages/mipsel/
are three Samba 3.0 Installationfiles:
    samba-doc_3.0.23b-1askwar_mipsel.ipk
    samba-swat_3.0.23b-1askwar_mipsel.ipk
    samba_3.0.23b-1askwar_mipsel.ipk
Anyone installed this allready and are there any instructions/hints
to get it running without bricking the existing files on the LS2?

Please Help and Thanks...


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2006 4:11 pm 
Offline
Betatester
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 4:38 pm
Posts: 941
Location: England
why don't you askwar!!!

theres an address on his site,


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2006 5:49 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 6:21 pm
Posts: 51
Location: Germany
Bauldrick wrote:
why don't you askwar!!!

theres an address on his site,


Yep, I don't mind e-mails. :) That's why I listed an email adress of mine there.

But now that we're here in the forum... What kind of problem do you have? It installs fine on my machine. But it'll overwrite the old samba 2.2 files from Buffalo, as they didn't get installed using ipkg.

That said, it of course won't hurt to make a backup prior to the installation. I uploaded a script which uses CPIO to make a backup of the old files. You can get it at http://alexander.skwar.name/~askwar/linkstation/packages/mipsel/samba-2.2-backup.sh. It also contains these restore instructions:
cd / ; cpio -idmuvV -F /mnt/hda/samba-2.2-backup.sh

If there are any problems, feel free to contact me!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2006 8:23 pm 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2005 4:40 pm
Posts: 46
Location: Germany
Hi,

i download CPIO and samba-2.2-backup.sh. from your side
but there is something wrong i thing...

I type
Code:
samba-2.2-backup.sh /mnt/hda/new/old-samba-backup.cpio


and get cpio: invalid option -- o

Please review your script.

Thanks.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2006 8:55 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 6:21 pm
Posts: 51
Location: Germany
Hm. I think, I'm making too many assumptions ;) You used the cpio from busybox, I guess. I bet, "which cpio" returns /bin/cpio for you and not /usr/local/bin/cpio.

Okay, new script uploaded. It checks, if cpio is the GNU cpio and bails out, if it's not. It also defaults to use /usr/local/bin/cpio, which is the installation path of "my" cpio.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 4:41 am 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2005 4:40 pm
Posts: 46
Location: Germany
Hello,

i download your new script but the problem is the same. Confused

Your right, its allways the /bin/cpio which is started by the script.

Of course there is your cpio in the /usr/local/bin/ folder.

What to do next ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 6:11 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
what about using the full path /usr/local/bin/cpio ?

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 6:19 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 6:21 pm
Posts: 51
Location: Germany
Argl ;)

Fixed.

I also updated the cpio package so that it removes the /bin/cpio which is in the way - it's renamed to /bin/cpio.pre-GNU-cpio.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 6:48 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 4:34 pm
Posts: 5332
What a BAD practice, sorry to shout at you. NEVER touch /bin or /sbin. Period.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 7:23 am 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2006 11:47 am
Posts: 15
Location: United Kingdom (Great Britain)
andre wrote:
What a BAD practice, sorry to shout at you. NEVER touch /bin or /sbin. Period.


Slightly off topic, but is there a small list of good and bad practices we should all try and adhere to? (with regard to Linkstations...)

I've made a mental note of never touching /bin and /sbin.
Thanks
A


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 7:29 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 4:34 pm
Posts: 5332
Don't touch /usr/ (including /usr/bin and /usr/sbin), put local software into /usr/local/ whenever you can.

Keep all configuration files in /etc/. You can play back your backup easliy after reflashing.

You can achieve both when you compile programs with "./configure --prefix=/usr/local --sysconfdir=/etc" in most cases.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 7:41 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 6:21 pm
Posts: 51
Location: Germany
andre wrote:
What a BAD practice, sorry to shout at you. NEVER touch /bin or /sbin. Period.


True. But the incomplete cpio from busybox is in the way and the GNU cpio does all the bb cpio does - and more. So, either I install GNU cpio to /bin and overwrite the busybox cpio or I install it to /usr/local and make sure, that the incomplete bb cpio doesn't interfere. That's what I did.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 7:43 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 4:34 pm
Posts: 5332
Ever heard of $PATH?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 7:53 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 6:21 pm
Posts: 51
Location: Germany
Thinking about it - the proper solution would be, to have my cpio package "Conflict" with the busybox that's installed and "Require" a newer revision of busybox. In this revision, there wouldn't be a /bin/cpio.

But as busybox isn't (necessarily) listed in the ipkg database, this proper solution doesn't work. And because of this, it's not as simple as you try to put it, Andre. Or do you have a workable solution? I'd love to hear that and will change my packages then!

Thanks,
Alexander


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 7:55 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 6:21 pm
Posts: 51
Location: Germany
andre wrote:
Ever heard of $PATH?


You mean that thing, where /bin is in front and because of that interferes with the just installed package? Or should I modify /etc/profile to make /usr/local/bin be in the front of the $PATH? I don't think so ;)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited