Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 10:33 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 10:10 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 4:24 pm
Posts: 9
Hi,

today I tried the first time to copy some files to the TsP. It was all round about 18GB and the finder said me it will take approximately two hours - this is absolutely too slow.

FIletransfer was started on Mac OS X 10.4.10 via smb-protocol in my local WLAN (54Mbit).

Is there a faster way to transfer files?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2007 7:58 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 9:20 pm
Posts: 366
Location: Chicago USA
smb has alot more overhead than FTP. I would suggest that or trying appletalk protocol to connect.

I'm sorry I'm not a Mac user, so I don't know what utilities to recommend but I would say that you should see some faster speed through FTP.

_________________
1 LS-GL: (FreeLink - 2.6.22 kernel)- backup and media server...
As of June 11, 2010:
admin@LS320:~$ uptime
20:23:40 up 417 days, 20:09, 1 user, load average: 0.20, 0.21, 0.30

That's only because I had to move that time ago. Love this box and this community, wish I had more time to dedicate to it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:08 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 4:16 pm
Posts: 1
The worst part is WLAN. 54Mbps is theory. You can be very happy with around 20Mbps. So 2MB/s => 7GB/h. I'd be very happy if 18GB via WLAN will only take 2 hours. This has nothing to do with the Terastation though. If you are in a hurry a cable is _always_ better than wireless. I have Gbit on my laptop, and if I want lots of data moving fast, I connect it with a cable.
There is a difference between smb and ftp, but the main slowness you are experiencing is from WLAN.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2007 5:33 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 11:38 pm
Posts: 26
Location: St. Kitts & Nevis - East Caribbean
To force Appletalk use:

afp://IP_ADDRESS_OF_TSP/

at the connect to server option on the finder menu. Performance is a lot better than using smb protocol.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 6:33 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 6:20 pm
Posts: 7
mbescher wrote:
To force Appletalk use:

afp://IP_ADDRESS_OF_TSP/

at the connect to server option on the finder menu. Performance is a lot better than using smb protocol.


I tried this but I get an AFP error -5014, after selecting which volume to mount. I did check Apple in the Shares.

I need some assistance to get this working, SMB is too slow for me as I need to stream DV video. NFS is great but I'm not savvy enough to tweak the TsP. I currently get an average of 12MB/s when copying files.

Thanks


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:01 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 4:34 pm
Posts: 5332
Check out my Mac article


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 3:34 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 6:20 pm
Posts: 7
@ Andre - Thanks for the link to your site, unfortunately I'm no expert at Linux and can't make out what to do first, all I see are a bunch of files, I was kinda looking for an automatic updater. All I need is NFS to run.

First of all I can't even Telnet or SSH into my TeraStation 2. What should I do first? I tried updating my original FW but the installer says there's nothing to update. So I'm stuck. Is there an application updater out there that will do everything automatically?

Thanks again.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 4:36 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 4:34 pm
Posts: 5332
I meant the Mac hints in http://buffalo.nas-central.org/index.php/Ma ... ync%2C_NFS


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2013 10:46 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Thu May 16, 2013 10:30 am
Posts: 1
Hey PauLee

I've Terastation pro also and was having similar speed problems tried updating firmware, setting all the settings correct etc... nothing helped me there but after awhile I thought trying to plug it in server straight and the transfer speed launched up to 100mbs as it before was <2mbs so i realised that the problem was between the devices = router/switch and picked up another one from the warehouse and that solved the speed issue for me atleast. the one that didn't work was Allied Telesyn AT-8124XL and I replaced it with Allied Telesyn AT-8024.

In our case the router/switch was between Server <-> Terastation and is attached to another network card in the server so the Terastation and some other devices are excluded from other parts of the network.

I know this is old post but since I haven't been able to find the solution elsewhere I thought to post it for others who might get some help out of it.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited