Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Mon Apr 23, 2018 12:47 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2014 4:18 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 2:26 pm
Posts: 6
Hey gang,

I'm trying to upgrade my Terastation II Pro to use 4 2TB WD Green drives. After fumbling through the wiki I finally got my partitions ready and can get as far as creating the raid 5 array and mounting it correctly. The issue I have is that after a restart the array does not automatically mount and I found that the diskinfo file is being overwritten to what appears to be a default config.

One difference I do have in my configuration is that I am not configuring partition 3 on the disks and allocating all disk space to partition 4 to allow a 6TB array and avoid splitting them up into separate arrays.

One other issue I'm facing is that the disks do not properly mount after a reboot (they do mount correctly once the array is set up). I'm allocating 1GB to partition 1 and 133MB to partition 2. Has anyone else run into this issue in the past or have any suggestions to try?

Please take any config easy on me, I like Linux, but only if everything is spelled out in perfect steps (ie, took me forever to realize the disks go by letter, sdA/sdB/sdC/sdD haha).

Also, I know the disks are working correctly as the RAID0 for Partition 1 on each disk is showing up correctly:
root@DJ-NAS:~# mdadm --detail /dev/md0
/dev/md0:
Version : 00.90.02
Creation Time : Thu Dec 1 05:07:20 2005
Raid Level : raid1
Array Size : 385408 (376.38 MiB 394.66 MB)
Device Size : 385408 (376.38 MiB 394.66 MB)
Raid Devices : 4
Total Devices : 4
Preferred Minor : 0
Persistence : Superblock is persistent

Update Time : Fri May 30 07:43:49 2014
State : active
Active Devices : 4
Working Devices : 4
Failed Devices : 0
Spare Devices : 0

UUID : 5a8ccc51:13c095a8:50ad6feb:f6039e62
Events : 0.242

Number Major Minor RaidDevice State
0 8 1 0 active sync /dev/sda1
1 8 33 1 active sync /dev/sdc1
2 8 49 2 active sync /dev/sdd1
3 8 17 3 active sync /dev/sdb1


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2014 5:28 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 2:26 pm
Posts: 6
False alarm - I created partition 3 and everything is working as it should. Not the result I really want but it is working as intended, I'll just have to set up 4 arrays to reach the 6TB I'm looking for.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited