Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Mon Jun 18, 2018 12:56 pm

All times are UTC+01:00

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 9:21 am 
Total Newbie

hi guys,
glad to find this forum :)

we are proud owner of an terastation pro v2 rackmount 4tb with stock firmware 1.33. as our admin recommended this device to us, we bought it, not knowing tha our osx clients will cause many problems on this device regarding to user rights on files and directories. we now need to gain telnet acces to repair the rights (e.g. 0777) on our data and modify the smb.conf (force create mask or so). after researching the web for a week by now, i wonder if our device is really able to enable telnet via acp_commander. i've been trying now for a while, but always get the same error on acp_commander:

Code:
A SocketTimeoutException usually indicates bad firewall settings.
Check especially for *UDP* port 22936 and make sure that the connection to your LS is working.
ERROR: Exception: SocketTimeoutException (Receive timed out) [ACP Send/Receive (Packet:8020 = ACP_Discover)]

i'm pretty sure there is no firewall in between (or i don't konw a hidden portblocker on osx??). i tried a portcheck via osx on the terastation and ist says the following:

Code:
„Portscan“ wurde gestartet …

Port Scanning host: 192.168.22.106

Open TCP Port:    21           ftp
    Open TCP Port:    80           http
    Open TCP Port:    139          netbios-ssn
    Open TCP Port:    443          https
    Open TCP Port:    445          microsoft-ds
    Open TCP Port:    548          afpovertcp
    Open TCP Port:    873          rsync
    Open TCP Port:    8873         dxspider
    Open TCP Port:    22939
„Portscan“ wurde beendet …

i would be very happy if someone of you guys can give me advice wheter telnet is possible on the terastation pro v2 rackmount at all or what is wrong in my trying and how i can gain telnet access to this device.