Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Sun Jun 24, 2018 1:43 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2010 2:50 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 2:35 pm
Posts: 1
Hi :-)

I'm working with a TS Pro II in my HomeRack for some time now (RAID 5). Until now, I never had any problems.
Since yesterday the TS suddenly got extremely slow. Read/Write Speed ist down to about 500-800kb /s
I still can access all my Data and although every Disc now appears to be OK, I got the following automated email after yesterdays USB Backup.

Quote:
DISK Error Notification

HDD error occured
Disk(s) the error occurred:Disk 2

(sdb) READ sector:1283501 count:4
Disk writing error
RAID drive error will be repaired automatically.
Continuous Back-up is recommended.


[TeraStation PROInformation]
TeraStation PROName: FILESERVER_2 (TS-RHTGL/R5)
Time: 2010/05/27 19:35:35
Setting Screen: http://192.168.0.2/


So even though my TS now tells me that everything is in order, looking at the speed I can certainly say that it's not.
My question is: What is the fasted and best way to fix this problem? Do I just replace Disc2 or is there more to this error?
Can I take out the faulty disc and still access all the data with normal speed? I need a few days to buy a new disc (would be great if I could use the TS in the mean time)
Is this maybe covered with the warenty?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 01, 2010 3:25 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 5:11 pm
Posts: 5
This may or may not apply to your situation.

If you have a consumer SATA drive in a RAID 5 you are exposed to data corruption. My definition of a consumer drive is one that has onboard error correcting. So if a drive ends up with a bad block the drive and the RAID try to fix it independently of each other. This can lead to corruption. I have had this happen to several clients. I use RAID 10 on my devices. This insulates you from these problems.


Enterprise drives have this feature disabled. Older WD drives allowed you to turn this off. Typically a WD Enterprise drive ends with a YS in the model number. I would not assume that the Buffalo came with these drives.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited