Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Tue Aug 14, 2018 11:56 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2008 12:36 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 12:17 pm
Posts: 4
Hi,

I tried Freelinkomatix on a LS1 (http://buffalo.nas-central.org/index.php/FreeLinkomatix). Everything was fine til reboot after the kernel 2.6 installation at the end of the script.

The hard disk is full now (the LED is telling so) and it seems not to boot completly.
I can't contact the Linkstation with telnet or ssh again. It doesn't react on ping!

Any ideas?

Immo


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2008 12:46 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
Did you free up space on hda1 before running the script?

There is an article entitled "Freeing Up Space..." or something to that effect...

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2008 5:47 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 12:17 pm
Posts: 4
No, I didn't, but the script does. It moves home, usr and var to hda3 before installing the new kernel. And I think thats the problem, cause hda3 had only about 15 gb available before running the script. I never thought that the new kernel will use so much space.

Immo


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2008 6:34 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
IIRC, I've only used the script on a freshly installed FreeLink ... don't know if that makes any difference, but it might... as scripts go, I remember it as pretty robust.

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2008 9:27 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 1:33 pm
Posts: 1082
Location: United States of America
(I wish I still had access to the server, I should just delete the script period)

There is a warning at the top of the wiki page

Code:
WARNING!

Freelinkomatix is currently deprecated due to Debian moving to ETCH. You may be able to use this script by doing a Dist-upgrade first (apt-get dist-uprade) and then rebooting and running the script, however please use this information at your risk


Image:Kurobrick.png    
WARNING!

There is a possibility that you could brick your NAS with these instructions. Please make sure that you read the entire page carefully. Use this scripting at your risk


Please use whatever is here at your own risk....

_________________
-Ramuk

LinkStation HG *250 Uboot - Foonas-EM - Freelink
Kuro HG *750 Uboot - Foonas-EM - Debian Squeeze
Kuro HD *60 Uboot - Foonas-EM - Debian Squeeze (For Sale)
KuroPro *2TB Debian Lenny Armel- Kernel 2.6.26
KuroPro *1TB Debian Lenny Armel- Kernel 2.6.25.6


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 7:14 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 4:34 pm
Posts: 5332
I could delete the script for you I guess. But it IS popular. Is there a chance to fix it?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2008 3:21 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 12:17 pm
Posts: 4
What do you think: Is there a chance to bring the LS1 back to life again by connecting the HD to another computer and delete some old personal data to free some diskspace? Or do you have any other ideas (EM mode does not work for freelink if I get it right)?

Thanks,
Immo


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2008 4:37 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 1:33 pm
Posts: 1082
Location: United States of America
andre wrote:
I could delete the script for you I guess. But it IS popular. Is there a chance to fix it?


The problem lies (I think) in the upgrade to etch from sarge. I'm sure it will become doubly problematic when lenny comes out soon. I've "bricked" a few linkstations with this script and just had to go back and do a clean install on an external linux workstation (ubuntu or a knoppix live cd).

In order for something like this thing to work properly I think the freelink distro would have to be lenny itself.

_________________
-Ramuk

LinkStation HG *250 Uboot - Foonas-EM - Freelink
Kuro HG *750 Uboot - Foonas-EM - Debian Squeeze
Kuro HD *60 Uboot - Foonas-EM - Debian Squeeze (For Sale)
KuroPro *2TB Debian Lenny Armel- Kernel 2.6.26
KuroPro *1TB Debian Lenny Armel- Kernel 2.6.25.6


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2008 6:03 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 4:34 pm
Posts: 5332
Lenny doesn't support kernel 2.4...


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2008 8:13 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 1:33 pm
Posts: 1082
Location: United States of America
andre wrote:
Lenny doesn't support kernel 2.4...


ugh that's right

Maybe it would make sense to have the script keep everything as Sarge, that is potentially doable I think.

_________________
-Ramuk

LinkStation HG *250 Uboot - Foonas-EM - Freelink
Kuro HG *750 Uboot - Foonas-EM - Debian Squeeze
Kuro HD *60 Uboot - Foonas-EM - Debian Squeeze (For Sale)
KuroPro *2TB Debian Lenny Armel- Kernel 2.6.26
KuroPro *1TB Debian Lenny Armel- Kernel 2.6.25.6


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:05 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 4:34 pm
Posts: 5332
No etch, but with dhcpcd and this /etc/network/interfaces:

# LS standard address
#
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.11.150
network 192.168.11.0
netmask 255.255.11.255
broadcast 192.168.11.255
#gateway 0.0.0.0

# default dynamic setup (no adjustment necessary)
#
auto eth0:1
iface eth0:1 inet dhcp
hostname `hostname`


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 4:05 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 3:59 am
Posts: 11
I've hit a similar snag (Freelinkomatix and an LS1 becoming non-responsive). I plan to pull the HD and work with it via Ubuntu. Since I'm going through this, I'd like to clean the drive out as much as possible. What all can I delete and still have a workable box? Can I blast it completely clean, and can I repartition it to get away from the hda1 limits?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited