Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Mon Nov 24, 2014 1:34 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 117 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 12:25 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
mindbender wrote:
great.

i finished my thesis today. will soon solder the jtag headers on a LS Pro v1 and a dead LS Pro v2 so i can join testing.


congratulations!

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 12:38 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 9:11 pm
Posts: 658
mindbender wrote:
great.

i finished my thesis today. will soon solder the jtag headers on a LS Pro v1 and a dead LS Pro v2 so i can join testing.


Awesome. Congratulations. Great Job. Mazel Tov.

_________________
My completely scratch built 832 push-pull tube amplifier with Padauk frame. It matches my custom mini-ITX machine.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 3:56 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
I tested it this weekend some more in the LSProV1 and V2, and I think the V1 still will have some quirks with how it behaves on there.

mindbender, if you use it on a V1, make sure :
a. you can try the keepalive script to see if it works for you when there is no initrd found ("run keepalive")
b. you make any env changes or flashes your are going to within the 5 minutes after power up
c. I am going to add in/change the scripts to set bootcmd properly for the V1, which seems to (sometimes?) need 1:1 instead of 0:1 that the v2 & kuropro need. you can try this manually, but it might not be persistent, even w/ a saveenv

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 10:31 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7702
Location: Austria, Vienna
i am currently training my soldering skills :)

i have 4 boards where i need to solder jtag + serial......its worth the time to train a little to get it right on the real boards.

i have both the LS Pro v1, LS Pro v2 for testing.

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 12:14 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
do any of the other boards happen to be a Terastation-ARM? I checked yesterday and it looks to me like at least 2 of them use the UBoot identical to the LSProV2 (diff showed the u-boot.buffalo.updated in the respective LSUpdater dirs to be identical) ...

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 7:30 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 11:26 am
Posts: 3701
Location: JAPAN
Quote:
i am currently training my soldering skills


Hope its as good as your writing skills :) Welldone on completing your thesis.

Looks like the UBoot port is progressing well. Still some issues between the V1 and V2 boards I see. Have you been able to track these down yet? Have you thought of the fact that the SATA connections (I/Fs) my be swapped between these, at a hardware level?

_________________
LS used as PVR and streaming source


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:32 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
lb_worm wrote:
... Have you thought of the fact that the SATA connections (I/Fs) my be swapped between these, at a hardware level?


@lb_worm: I'm not sure I understand what you mean here ... could you explain ?

are you alluding to the fact that the V1 expects to see the kernel in 1:1 and the V2 expects it in 0:1?

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 2:20 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7702
Location: Austria, Vienna
a guy populated the second sata port on his ls pro v1 about a month or two ago...and the hdd connected to this new sata port was recognized as /dev/sda, not /dev/sdb in linux....and it was detected as first hdd in uboot as well which meant he was not able to boot to the internal hdd but to the external one automatically.

i suppose thats what lb_worm means with a possible rewiring of the sata ports on the hardware level right?

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 10:43 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
I'd be curious to read that thread...

I'm also curious what the uboot log for his setup looked like. I'd assume it was a LSProV1 stock uboot that he used. If I understand correctly, the search_boot function in uboot was added in in V2 (not in V1). I'm wondering if the V2 uboot would change (correct it , word choice would depend on one's perspective, ie. make it continue to boot the internal?) its behavior with respect to the additional hdd?

??

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 2:30 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7702
Location: Austria, Vienna
viewtopic.php?f=39&t=6571&hilit=sata+second+hdd

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2008 1:46 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
thanks! interesting... maybe useful if he posts his output... ;)

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 11, 2009 8:35 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 5:39 pm
Posts: 73
Location: HK
Can I have a copy of the "Netconsole_enabled_UBoot-beta_4-12-08-1318.tar.gz" for testing because the link in Wiki is broken or if this UBoot is restricted from ordinary access?

_________________
LinkStation Live V2, Stock Firmware: 1.20-0.76 Japan w/EXT3 root-fs & JFS Data Partitions


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 12:48 am 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:56 am
Posts: 709
Anyone had a look into the chl's uboot?
to see if it will work on v1/v2 live/pro's


http://opensource.buffalo.jp/ls-chl-102.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 7:08 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
That's a good question. How different is the board? Does it have the same processor?

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 7:13 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:56 am
Posts: 709
identical

http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/images/s ... _board.jpg


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 117 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group