Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 11:43 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 146 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 2:43 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 8:49 am
Posts: 294
mkdir /mnt/disk1/tmp
cd /mnt/disk1/tmp
wget http://ipkg.nslu2-linux.org/feeds/optwa ... -2_arm.xsh
sh lspro-bootstrap_1.2-2_arm.xsh

Needs updating first post.. its on v 1.2-4 now... ;)

_________________
Geeky blog at http://www.methanoid.blogspot.com :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 7:20 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 2:27 pm
Posts: 2
I tested it with my LS-H500GL.
It works!

Here is the script output text :
Code:
root@LS-HGLC6D:/mnt/disk1/tmp# sh lspro-bootstrap_1.2-4_arm.xsh
Optware Bootstrap for lspro.
Extracting archive... please wait
bootstrap/
bootstrap/bootstrap.sh
bootstrap/ipkg-opt.ipk
1081+1 records in
1081+1 records out
bootstrap/ipkg.sh
bootstrap/optware-bootstrap.ipk
bootstrap/wget.ipk
Creating temporary ipkg repository...
Installing optware-bootstrap package...
Unpacking optware-bootstrap.ipk...Done.
Configuring optware-bootstrap.ipk...Setting up ipkg arch-file
Modifying /etc/init.d/rcS
Done.
Installing ipkg...
Unpacking ipkg-opt.ipk...Done.
Configuring ipkg-opt.ipk...Done.
Removing temporary ipkg repository...
Installing wget...
Installing wget (1.11.4-1) to root...
Configuring wget
Successfully terminated.
Creating /opt/etc/ipkg/cross-feed.conf...
Setup complete.


root@LS-HGLC6D:~# ipkg update
Downloading http://ipkg.nslu2-linux.org/feeds/optware/cs05q3armel/cross/stable/Packages.gz
Inflating http://ipkg.nslu2-linux.org/feeds/optware/cs05q3armel/cross/stable/Packages.gz
Updated list of available packages in /opt/lib/ipkg/lists/cross
Successfully terminated.

root@LS-HGLC6D:~# ipkg upgrade
Nothing to be done
Successfully terminated.


thx to all of you!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 11:18 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 8:48 pm
Posts: 6
So near and yet so far.....

Hi guys,

Thanks for the great instructions. I have successfully installed the bootstrap and downloaded the Optware packages. :up:
I have installed NFSUTILS, but here is where I need your help with a real noob question. :oops:

I need to create the Exports file, but all the instruction assume that the reader knows the command to create this. Can you tell me what the command format and syntax is that I need to enter to create the Exports file?

Also, I am having trouble starting the NFSUTILS app (probably due to lack of Exports file!) Can you also confirm the command and syntax for this too please?

Thanks guys,

Steve


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 4:41 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 9:20 pm
Posts: 366
Location: Chicago USA
Hi,

you can setup your exports file by the following command:
Code:
vi /etc/exports

in the Vim editor, you will likely have a hard time getting around, its the hardest text editor to manipulate at the beginning because everything requires keyboard shortcuts.

Here are a few simple ones to get you started.
i = insert (allows editing of the file, this is the first command to type to allow you to start typing in the file)
esc = escape (takes you out of text editing mode, and to the vi command line)

on the vi command line :wq = write and quit
:q! = quit without saving

There are many others but thats a start.

I don't know if you are using a disto with nano, but you could try
Code:
nano /etc/exports

if that works, nano is much easier for a new linux user as you are direct to text editing, and you control the editor with ctrl commands, e.g. ctrl+c is to close, giving you the choice to save or to not.


I'm not sure if the tutorials you've read discuss the syntax of the exports file, but there are examples in the nfs man page about what the syntax should be, so here are a few:
Code:
# sample /etc/exports file
/               master(rw) trusty(rw,no_root_squash)
/projects       proj*.local.domain(rw)
/usr            *.local.domain(ro) @trusted(rw)
/home/joe       pc001(rw,all_squash,anonuid=150,anongid=100)
/pub            (ro,insecure,all_squash)


As for NFSUTILS, hopefully you can start it once that file is created. Give it a shot

_________________
1 LS-GL: (FreeLink - 2.6.22 kernel)- backup and media server...
As of June 11, 2010:
admin@LS320:~$ uptime
20:23:40 up 417 days, 20:09, 1 user, load average: 0.20, 0.21, 0.30

That's only because I had to move that time ago. Love this box and this community, wish I had more time to dedicate to it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 12:18 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 9:12 am
Posts: 4
Got it all working on an LS-LGL500

- DNS Issues:
1. vi /etc/nsswitch.conf - add "dns" before "hosts" i.e. "dns hosts: file"
This worked for me. Althought looking in the ipkg apache start up script it has this

if [ ! -e /etc/nsswitch.conf ]; then
echo "hosts: files dns" >/etc/nsswitch.conf
fi

So you could use "hosts: files dns"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2008 8:04 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 8:48 pm
Posts: 6
OK - Edging closer now.

I have used vi to edit the Exports file. Thanks for the advice - What a horrible editor! :o

I now need to enter the start command for nfsutils - I've tried so many combinations of what I think is the correct syntax, but I just get no such file or directory.
Do I need to CD to the correct location?

What is correct command to start this? I thought I had started it successfully in the past, but cannot remember the command.

Really sorry for the nood questions - I have searched without success.

Would really appreciate your help here :shock:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2008 4:10 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 9:20 pm
Posts: 366
Location: Chicago USA
unless I'm mistaken, NFSUTILS is a meta package, including nfsd, the NFS daemon.

if so, you should be able to start it with
Code:
/etc/init.d/nfsd start


if that works, then you want to make sure that the nfsd is set to start on boot, (and die on shutdown), by following a similar path to this article.

You would add nfsd.sh to the /etc/init.d/rcS file (instead of sshd.sh, or additional to it).

-tim

_________________
1 LS-GL: (FreeLink - 2.6.22 kernel)- backup and media server...
As of June 11, 2010:
admin@LS320:~$ uptime
20:23:40 up 417 days, 20:09, 1 user, load average: 0.20, 0.21, 0.30

That's only because I had to move that time ago. Love this box and this community, wish I had more time to dedicate to it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2008 7:09 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 8:48 pm
Posts: 6
goat wrote:
unless I'm mistaken, NFSUTILS is a meta package, including nfsd, the NFS daemon.

if so, you should be able to start it with
Code:
/etc/init.d/nfsd start


-tim


Hi, I'm a complete noob here, but I tried to execute your first instruction. I'm not sure which directory I need to be in when I try this, so I tried a few and it still didn't work. This is a copy of the telnet window with the responses I received to each attempt.

Code:
BUFFALO INC. LinkStation series HS-DHGL(JINMU)
HS-DHGL671 login: root
root@HS-DHGL671:~# /etc/init.d/nfsd start
sh: /etc/init.d/nfsd: No such file or directory
root@HS-DHGL671:~# cd /mnt
root@HS-DHGL671:/mnt# /etc/init.d/nfsd start
sh: /etc/init.d/nfsd: No such file or directory
root@HS-DHGL671:/mnt# cd /disk1
sh: cd: /disk1: No such file or directory
root@HS-DHGL671:/mnt# cd /mnt/disk1
root@HS-DHGL671:/mnt/disk1# /etc/init.d/nfsd start
sh: /etc/init.d/nfsd: No such file or directory
root@HS-DHGL671:/mnt/disk1# cd opt/
sh: cd: opt/: No such file or directory
root@HS-DHGL671:/mnt/disk1# dir
sh: dir: command not found
root@HS-DHGL671:/mnt/disk1#



I think a lot of my problem is I don't really get a lot of time to take a long run at this, so I pick it up for half an hour when I get in from work, and forget the things I did earlier!! :(

Would really appreciate your advice about what I'm doing wrong here. Am I executing it from the right directory?

I haven't a clue about how to go about the later instructions in your post, but we'll get to those in good time hopefully. ;)

Thanks once again for your support :oops:

Steve


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2008 1:38 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 9:20 pm
Posts: 366
Location: Chicago USA
Steve,

The command I gave you is agnostic to the location it's run from, however, as the reply to your command states, nfsd is not in the location I assumed.

This is coming from someone that has not used optware, but has read up on it here in the forums and the wiki, so bzhou or someone else who may have more experience might chime in.

First, I was incorrect earlier in telling you where to store the exports file you created, so type this (where-ever)
Code:
mv /etc/exports /opt/etc/exports


Second, I checked here http://www.nslu2-linux.org/wiki/Optware/Nfs-utils and the package you installed is a kernel-mode NFS daemon, which requires a kernel that supports NFS. The stock buffalo kernel does not support that, it seems.

You can read more about it here: viewtopic.php?p=88066#p88066

In the last post by Ramuk, he talks about unfs3 which is a userland NFS daemon, that may be the safer bet rather than trying to replace your kernel (albeit a bit slower).

I would suggest posting there for additional help installing unfs3, as this thread is massive, I'm not familiar with it, and don't have the ability to try installing it in my debian server to tell you what to do (hint: google setup unfs3), but report back if you have issues.

_________________
1 LS-GL: (FreeLink - 2.6.22 kernel)- backup and media server...
As of June 11, 2010:
admin@LS320:~$ uptime
20:23:40 up 417 days, 20:09, 1 user, load average: 0.20, 0.21, 0.30

That's only because I had to move that time ago. Love this box and this community, wish I had more time to dedicate to it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2008 8:05 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 8:48 pm
Posts: 6
OK cool - will give it a try

Thanks so much for your time, effort and patience :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2008 11:18 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 11:41 pm
Posts: 21
Worked for LS-CHL with opened stock firmware

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2008 2:00 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 5:55 am
Posts: 11
mindbender wrote:
its for those who want to enhance the stock firmware...those who do not want to loose the webinterface for administration.


Hi Mindbender

I've been having some "fun" with a LS-LGL with optware - have ssh running nicely and a few other things, but can't get too carried away as it doesn't have a lot of base memory (only 16MB base, and 128MB swap)

The pain is that with every reboot most of the settings go back to default. Basic stuff like the smb.conf and hostname get reset with every reboot.

Would you recommend freelink (given the low memory) or stick with optware and create a heap of /opt/"start-up" scripts to undo all the return to default stuff the stock firmware does during bootup?

(The LS-LGL doesn't have a web-interface, hence the thread *smile*)

Thanks

Yours

Roy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2008 5:34 am 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 11:29 pm
Posts: 79
If certain settings get reset, it's because the firmware thinks it owns these settings.
In the case of smb.conf, you can also switch to optware samba, its configuration is at /opt/etc/samba/smb.conf;
With the hostname, does linkstation UI provides a way to set it?
Although you can put correctional scripts under /opt, but these annoyances have more to do with the firmware than with optware.
The key question to ask yourself, do you want to use any stock firmware feature or not?
BTW, optware also has feed that supports debian lenny/armel.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2008 7:49 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 5:55 am
Posts: 11
bzhou wrote:
With the hostname, does linkstation UI provides a way to set it?

Nope, firmware on LS-LGL is very limited ...
bzhou wrote:
The key question to ask yourself, do you want to use any stock firmware feature or not?

the LS-LGL firmware is very limited, so there's nothing in it I'd like to continue using - The question following on that is has anyone successfully gotten the LS-LGL with it's small base memory of 16MB to work with freelink (The stock firmware has the advantage that it works within these contraints)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2008 8:32 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 4:27 am
Posts: 24
Hello, I am having problems with my LS-LGL box which I have already installed the optware feeds on, for some reason after this last hurricane it refused to boot up and so I went to buffalo's website and downloaded their FW updates for it.. After updating I can no longer get in with acp_commander but my shares are showing up, only problem is I do not have access to delete anything and this is annoying, I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions? I'm stumped. ~thanks in advance~

---- EDITED ----
I was able to get back into it with the latest version of acp_commander version 0.4.1
trying to get everything set back up


Last edited by mobster on Mon Oct 06, 2008 4:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 146 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group