Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Thu Sep 18, 2014 6:50 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 7:33 pm 
Offline
Developer

Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 6:05 pm
Posts: 613
Location: Germany
/etc/resolve.conf:
Code:
nameserver 192.168.0.1
Caching nameserver used by all systems here at home.
I'm running the tests on jtymod5, so that'd be equal to the stock FW - makes it glibc 2.3.6.

_________________
acp_commander users note: from ver. 0.4 on the correct ACP authentication method is used, avoiding possible side effects.
Download: http://sourceforge.net/project/showfile ... _id=167037


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 8:38 pm 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 10:29 am
Posts: 55
@Georg

I fear your particular linux insn't identical to debian.
I fear libresolv is not statically linked, I'll ask to spiralvoice:

could you please execute: "locate libresolv" on your box
I get this on my debian:
/lib/libresolv-2.3.2.so
/lib/libresolv.so.2
/lib/tls/libresolv-2.3.2.so
/lib/tls/libresolv.so.2
/usr/lib/libresolv.a
/usr/lib/libresolv.so

Thanks

_________________
Precompiled Debian Mldonkey's cores
ARM http://mldonkey.sourceforge.net/forums/viewtopic.php?p=26582#26582
PowerPC http://mldonkey.sourceforge.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=4834
Mipsel http://mldonkey.sourceforge.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=4890


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2007 12:02 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 3:58 pm
Posts: 22
Hi,

is there any known solution for the DNS problem on a LSPro with the current MLDonkey binary from fatbar?

my libresolve is 2.3.6:
root@LS-GL9C6:/lib# ls -l libres*
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 64524 Mar 29 03:24 libresolv-2.3.6.so
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 18 Aug 31 02:21 libresolv.so.2 -> libresolv-2.3.6.so


Ciao
Togeis


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2007 7:50 pm 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 10:29 am
Posts: 55
Hi, togeis , have you already tried the core? Perhaps not all the installations are suffering this problem.
A linkstation user has reported on mldonkey's forum that my core is working.
I suppose the problem could be related to glibc version/kernel version, I'm trying to find out a definitive solution, but I'm waiting for a response on these threads:
http://buffalo.nas-central.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=2321
http://buffalo.nas-central.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=2359

My suggestion is, let's try these cores, perhaps they are working for you right ;) .
Thanks for the feedback (in advance)

_________________
Precompiled Debian Mldonkey's cores
ARM http://mldonkey.sourceforge.net/forums/viewtopic.php?p=26582#26582
PowerPC http://mldonkey.sourceforge.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=4834
Mipsel http://mldonkey.sourceforge.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=4890


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2007 8:07 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 3:58 pm
Posts: 22
Hi, i tried the "normal" version core. The static linked version starts, but has the DNS problem.
When i try to dowload a torrent file with mldonkey, it writes to the mlnet.log file, that it cannot resolve the URL.
The dynamic linked version does not start.
Ciao
Togeis


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 10:29 am 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 10:29 am
Posts: 55
Don't know if this could be a solution, I'll provide in few days a copy of my own libraries in order to try mldonkey on a chrooted environment.

Please read:
viewtopic.php?f=19&t=2359&p=37395#p37395

a guy has tried substituting his own glibc with another one, but I am not so deep in these things!I fear this could break/brick your box!!Be careful.

_________________
Precompiled Debian Mldonkey's cores
ARM http://mldonkey.sourceforge.net/forums/viewtopic.php?p=26582#26582
PowerPC http://mldonkey.sourceforge.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=4834
Mipsel http://mldonkey.sourceforge.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=4890


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 10:30 pm 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 10:29 am
Posts: 55
updated binaries/ added libraries

_________________
Precompiled Debian Mldonkey's cores
ARM http://mldonkey.sourceforge.net/forums/viewtopic.php?p=26582#26582
PowerPC http://mldonkey.sourceforge.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=4834
Mipsel http://mldonkey.sourceforge.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=4890


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 1:48 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 3:58 pm
Posts: 22
Hi,

it is working !

But i had to use the chroot feature.

Could it be that the BT-Plugin is a little bit slow? Has it DHT?

Big thx for compiling.

Ciao
Togeis


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 2:35 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7702
Location: Austria, Vienna
well, if it really works we should write a wikipage. it isn`t really easy to start it via a chroot enviroment....but if it works properly it is worth the hassle. same for powerpc cores.

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 5:32 pm 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 10:29 am
Posts: 55
@Togeis, thanks for feedback.
I'll appreciate if you write a little chroot walkthru.

I have also proposed an alternative approach using an ugly hack:
Quoted from my main thread on mldonkey forum about using LD_LIBRARY_PATH
http://mldonkey.sourceforge.net/forums/viewtopic.php?p=26582#26582
quoted:
Code:
I have added my needed shared libs in the main archive.Copy them in(example) /new_libs_path

I suggest to create a little script which sets this enviroment variable first to call mlnet:
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/new_libs_path:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH

This will luckly cause to first call my libraries first of your ones.
This is an hard hack, it is better to use only when you have reserved a users for mldonkey's sake.


I'm just curious about LD_LIBRARY_PATH method. Do you think this method make sense??Can you test this way too??
Be careful and don't use this way if your mlnet user does lot of things(I am not sure about the scope of LD_LIBRARY_PATH variable ;-) ).

About Bittorrent plugin, it is a very simple&basic implementaion, it has not DHT and has not high performances, the real advantage about mldonkey is that the overall bandwith of ed2k/BT/filetp/DC could be bounded at a specified value (advantage of a centraliced p2p application :-D ).

_________________
Precompiled Debian Mldonkey's cores
ARM http://mldonkey.sourceforge.net/forums/viewtopic.php?p=26582#26582
PowerPC http://mldonkey.sourceforge.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=4834
Mipsel http://mldonkey.sourceforge.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=4890


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 10:44 pm 
Offline
Developer

Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 6:05 pm
Posts: 613
Location: Germany
fabtar, I tested the LD_LIBRARY_PATH method and it works for me:

I wrote following three liner:
Code:
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/new_libs_path:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH
/path_to_mldonkey/mlnet.static

(*I think*) This starts the static linked mlnet after setting the LD_LIBRARY_PATH environment variable as needed. And the variable is only set for the call of mlnet, thus the remainer of the installation is not affected.
DNS issue seems to be solved and mldoney works as it should - as far as I can say after 5 mins.

_________________
acp_commander users note: from ver. 0.4 on the correct ACP authentication method is used, avoiding possible side effects.
Download: http://sourceforge.net/project/showfile ... _id=167037


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 3:21 pm 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 10:29 am
Posts: 55
Thanks Georg!!
I think you are right, perhaps with the "export" the variable affects all the mldonkey's user activities (root and other users shouldn't be affected), but this is only a supposition.

I have also read about another way to apply(for sure) LD_LIBRARY_PATH only with the mlnet program
Code:
Remember that if you close the current shell and you didn't update ~/.bashrc, you'll have to repeat step 6 when you intend to run prog again. On the other hand, if you want to make the new LD_LIBRARY_PATH variable effective for prog only without affecting subsequent programs started from this shell, then skip step 6 and start prog like this instead:
$ LD_LIBRARY_PATH=~/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH ./prog arguments ...


from:http://cftc.cii.fc.ul.pt/~mabs/philippa/appendix.html

for example:

$ LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/new_libs_path:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH ./mldonkey_path/mlnet (arguments?)

Naturally this solution needs further testing.

I'm very happy to see there are 2 different ways to make my core to work properly for sure: chroot and LD_LIBRARY . :biglol:
@Togeis: if you like you could write a bunch of chroots's tips

Thanks for your precious feedback, I'll update my main posts in few days with your reports.

_________________
Precompiled Debian Mldonkey's cores
ARM http://mldonkey.sourceforge.net/forums/viewtopic.php?p=26582#26582
PowerPC http://mldonkey.sourceforge.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=4834
Mipsel http://mldonkey.sourceforge.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=4890


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 7:14 pm 
Offline
Developer

Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 6:05 pm
Posts: 613
Location: Germany
After more than two days I'd say that mldonky (mlnet.static) runs stable with the method described above.
However note that it causes quite high system load. A Knoppix.5.2.iso ran at a maximum download rate 15 Kb/s (bandwidth limit at 80 Kb/s) and caused more than 90% system load (even when I closed the webgui). rtorrent with download rates between 70 and 90 Kb/s only rarly came above 10% and usually caused a system load between 5 and 7%.
So it seems that while you get the comfort of the nice gui your download rate is limited by the power of this little box.

_________________
acp_commander users note: from ver. 0.4 on the correct ACP authentication method is used, avoiding possible side effects.
Download: http://sourceforge.net/project/showfile ... _id=167037


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 7:42 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7702
Location: Austria, Vienna
or it is a arm related bug.

mldonkey was able to download torrents with about 80 kb/sek....on my LS1, which was the slowest box so far.

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 9:51 pm 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 10:29 am
Posts: 55
Sometimes Bittorrent plugins start consuming CPU, this is reported on different platforms.
You can change option: share_scan_interval = 0 (zero)
This helps to reduce CPU consumption.
Another try:
To reduce CPU usage you can also disable IPtoCountry(by removing database link from webinterface->option->web infos, or directly from configuration files).
Perhaps You have also to delete IptoCountry database in .mldonkey directory.

P.s:thanks Georg for feedback, I have used (cut/paste) your past posts and script in the main mldonkey's thread.

_________________
Precompiled Debian Mldonkey's cores
ARM http://mldonkey.sourceforge.net/forums/viewtopic.php?p=26582#26582
PowerPC http://mldonkey.sourceforge.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=4834
Mipsel http://mldonkey.sourceforge.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=4890


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group