Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Wed May 23, 2018 6:21 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 64 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 11:17 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 5:21 am
Posts: 144
I now have a nice tested rootfs image based on the base debian sid armel, using the same method as used by Andreas Bach Aaen, (not debootstrap, I couldn''t get a working system that way).

It is base debian sid plus xfsprogs, ssh and micro_evtd (lb_worm version of 20080205, source included).
Uses the /etc/passwd and fstab from Freelink-1.0 rev2. works fine with the buffalo 2.6.16.16-arm1
kernel (1.10 LSPRO and 2.10 LSLIVE firmware) and both xfs and converted-to-ext3 /dev/sda2
of the original size that comes with the LS. hddrootfs.img is about 50 MB.
Works with both the freelink initrd and the recent lb_worm one.


lb_worm will probably have an "official" armel rootfs image soon, but I can upload somewhere if someone wants to host it in the meantime. (I suppose nas-central uploads are still broken?)

Installs without a serial cable. no u-boot changes.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 1:41 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 11:26 am
Posts: 3701
Location: JAPAN
I have a 'puka' armel Debian load running now. You must note that the armel repo's are still in progress and many packages are not yet built. I have managed to get enough together for a running Debian boot with all the same installed packages as Freelink REV 1.0: samba, ssh etc.

_________________
LS used as PVR and streaming source


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 1:52 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
are there any chances to consider the different arm9 boxes?

if possible we should think about getting it more universal......

LS Pro/LS Live/Kuro Pro -> 1 disk
LS Pro DUo -> 2 disks
Terastation Pro II / Terastation Live -> up to 4 disks

i suppose the raid stuff is the biggest problem.

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 3:29 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:32 am
Posts: 109
mindbender wrote:
are there any chances to consider the different arm9 boxes?

if possible we should think about getting it more universal......

Terastation Pro II / Terastation Live -> up to 4 disks
i suppose the raid stuff is the biggest problem.

The raid is actually handled by initrd -
if I can get access to (the rootfs or even better) the steps taken I will try to build one for the TS Pro


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 3:47 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 11:26 am
Posts: 3701
Location: JAPAN
The Debian armel port I have works on both my KURO and my LS. I just tar'd it across from my KURO and it worked.

_________________
LS used as PVR and streaming source


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 3:53 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:32 am
Posts: 109
lb_worm wrote:
The Debian armel port I have works on both my KURO and my LS. I just tar'd it across from my KURO and it worked.

If you can put it up on a ftp somewhere I'll see what the TS says about it...


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 6:55 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 5:21 am
Posts: 144
Report of xfs issues in debian armel sid on LSLIVE:


I am running a v2 LinkStation and debian sid armel with a rebuilt buffalo GPL 2.6.16 kernel
(my 2.6.16.57-lsp_eabi.dh_v4; the stock 2.6.16.16-arm1 also behaves as described here.) initrd is the Freelink-1.0-rev2 initrd.


(1) added the armel sid xfsprogs package to the base debian install.

(2a) armel sid mkfs.xfs does not create a working xfs filesystem
-- does not mount
-- full of errors when sid armel xfs_check is run.

(2b) the buffalo mkfs.xfs (fromthe initrd) produced a mountable xfs file system,
both armel sid xfs_check and buffalo initrd xfs_check report no errors.

(3) workaround for the armel rootfilesystem: remove armel sid xfsprogs package, and copy the buffalo xfs progs and associated shared libraries libxfs, libxlog and libdisk to /usr/local/lib, usr/local/sbin /usr/local/bin.

----------------------------------------------------------------
Maybe it is the combination of the buffalo 2.6.16 kernel with debian sid
armel mkfs.xfs that is broken, and debian sid armel mkfs.xfs would work with a debian sid armel kernel?

Clues: output of buffalo and sid armel mkfs.xfs shows different options:
Quote:

(using debian sid armel mkfs.xfs, from xfsprogs package)

#mkfs.xfs -f /dev/sda6
BAD
meta-data=/dev/sda6 isize=256 agcount=4, agsize=27703589 blks
= sectsz=512 attr=2
data = bsize=4096 blocks=110814354, imaxpct=25
= sunit=0 swidth=0 blks
naming =version 2 bsize=4096
log =internal log bsize=4096 blocks=32768, version=2
= sectsz=512 sunit=0 blks, lazy-count=1
realtime =none extsz=4096 blocks=0, rtextents=0

#mount -t xfs /dev/sda6 /mnt/disk1

XFS: bad version
XFS: SB validate failed
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part6,
missing codepage or helper program, or other error
In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
dmesg | tail or so





Quote:
(using buffalo mkfs.xfs, taken from initrd:)

#mkfs.xfs -f /dev/sda6
GOOD

meta-data=/dev/sda6 isize=256 agcount=106, agsize=1048576 blks
= sectsz=512
data = bsize=4096 blocks=110814354, imaxpct=25
= sunit=0 swidth=0 blks, unwritten=1
naming =version 2 bsize=4096
log =internal log bsize=4096 blocks=32768, version=1
= sectsz=512 sunit=0 blks
realtime =none extsz=65536 blocks=0, rtextents=0

#mount -t xfs /dev/sda6 /mnt/disk1


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 12:57 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 3:06 pm
Posts: 2
duncan_h wrote:
Quote:
CC arch/arm/mach-orion/buffalo_micon.o
arch/arm/mach-orion/buffalo_micon.c: In function 'BuffaloInitUart':
arch/arm/mach-orion/buffalo_micon.c:34: error: 'UART1_BASE' undeclared (first use in this function)
arch/arm/mach-orion/buffalo_micon.c:34: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
arch/arm/mach-orion/buffalo_micon.c:34: error: for each function it appears in.)
arch/arm/mach-orion/buffalo_micon.c: In function 'BuffaloMiconInput':
arch/arm/mach-orion/buffalo_micon.c:54: error: 'UART1_BASE' undeclared (first use in this function)
arch/arm/mach-orion/buffalo_micon.c: In function 'MiconPortWrite':
arch/arm/mach-orion/buffalo_micon.c:96: error: 'UART1_BASE' undeclared (first use in this function)
make[1]: *** [arch/arm/mach-orion/buffalo_micon.o] Error 1


Sylver's micon.patch (and micon2.patch) dont seem to be valid in the current kernel. Or am I missing something?


UART1_BASE is replaced by UART1_VIRT_BASE ?.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:27 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:32 am
Posts: 109
Allmost up and running on my TS ProII

I have one MAJOR issue left. The installer will not run final step!

I can chroot into the Armel and run - but how do I get the bootloader installed???
- can I simply pack up my initrd into a ramdisk or ??


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 6:24 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 5:21 am
Posts: 144
the boot loader is u-boot in flash memory which you should NOT touch
(you get to talk to it in pre-boot on the serial terminal)


the initrd should be ( a modified version of?) the one that is in /boot and which came with terastation. If you need to modify it (maybe you dont) you would loop mount it, copy it,
change its linuxrc as appropriate, add anything to it, and repack it into an image, as
described on the wiki.

Your main issue is the watchdog timer. Do you use the buffalo miconapl or lb_worm's
micro_evtd replacement. There may be differences between the TS and the LS, so
you need to test. Probably in your chroot first. (The application is just for talking to
the watchdog timer, so I suppose you could test micro_evtd from lb_worms download
directory on nas-central by killing the miconapl process and starting micro_evtd in
the chroot? You will need either miconapl and its buffalo libraries or micro_evtd
in usr/local on the new armel root file system, as well as in initrd.


then initrd is just loaded from /boot/initrd.buffalo by the bootloader, along with
uImage.buffalo. You can watch this happening on the serial terminal.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:01 am 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:32 am
Posts: 109
@dunca_h

I'm on 4 very fresh disk with nothing left from buffalo. As you mention there are differences betwen the TS and the LS. The stock initrd will NOT boot anything besides buffalo's own distribution.

My question is how do I setup the /boot starting from scratch and where the installer fail?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 12:08 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
the best approach IMHO would be to loop-mount both the LS-Freelink and the Tera stock initrd like described here:

http://nas-central.org/index.php/How_to ... aka_initrd

then start comparing the scripts....there will be some checks inside the tera stock initrd which got removed .....

hm. now that i think of i think it might be a good idea to compare the stock LS Pro initrd with the LS Freelink initrd recursively and with diff. then you should find out where checks need to be removed in the Tera stock initrd...

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 12:24 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:32 am
Posts: 109
As I would need to keep all the raid setup from the TS stock one, it should be a simple matter og just changing the linuxrc script and discard the buffalo checks. problery just remove the rootfs check in libbuffalo.

Can someone please confirm what files are in /boot on a TS as I have scratched everything


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 7:33 pm 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:32 am
Posts: 109
ok got it up running (at least for 5 minuttes as I still need to install micro_evtd)

I do however get a couple of erros during startup: (only partly included here)
Code:
Waiting for /dev to be fully populated...SAL (ERROR)  0 3 0 :Scsi command completed. pScb c14f47cD
SAL (ERROR) CDB:12 1 0 0 fe 0
SAL (ERROR) Sense Data:70 0 5 0 0 0 0 a 0 0 0 0 24 0 0 0 0 0
SAL (ERROR)  0 3 0 :Scsi command completed. pScb c14f47c0, ScsiStatus 2 completionStatus MV_SCSI_D
SAL (ERROR) CDB:12 1 0 0 fe 0
SAL (ERROR) Sense Data:70 0 5 0 0 0 0 a 0 0 0 0 24 0 0 0 0 0
SAL (ERROR)  0 3 0 :Scsi command completed. pScb c14f47c0, ScsiStatus 2 completionStatus MV_SCSI_D
SAL (ERROR) CDB:12 1 0 0 fe 0
SAL (ERROR) Sense Data:70 0 5 0 0 0 0 a 0 0 0 0 24 0 0 0 0 0
SAL (ERROR)  0 1 0 :Scsi command completed. pScb c14f4740, ScsiStatus 2 completionStatus MV_SCSI_D
SAL (ERROR) CDB:12 1 0 0 fe 0
SAL (ERROR) Sense Data:70 0 5 0 0 0 0 a 0 0 0 0 24 0 0 0 0 0
SAL (ERROR)  0 2 0 :Scsi command completed. pScb c14f4740, ScsiStatus 2 completionStatus MV_SCSI_D

and
Code:
== fsck_disks ==
e2fsck 1.27 (8-Mar-2002)
fsck.ext3: Filesystem has unsupported feature(s) (/dev/md0)
e2fsck: Get a newer version of e2fsck!


Any comments/suggestions?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:39 am 
Offline
Regular Member

Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 5:21 am
Posts: 144
SAL ERROR ... is not a problem. Its udev starting, and hotplug looking for hardware.
(It's also there on the Linkstation, when udev is used)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 64 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited