Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Sun Jun 24, 2018 3:42 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2008 12:40 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 8:10 am
Posts: 54
Hello!

I'm using lb_worm's lenny image and latest davy_gravy's kernel (2.6.27.4), and I keep getting these messages with the commands top, free and uptime:

Code:
Unknown HZ value! (94) Assume 100.


It happened with previous 2.6.26 also.
Sometimes it's not displayed but lately it's everytime.

Any idea?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2008 2:43 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2008 4:58 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Karlsrhe, Germany
Same message here (LS Live v1, gentoo 2.6.26), but message appearance is random.
With the 2.6.22 kernel I got
Unknown HZ value! (0) Assume 100.


ms


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2008 10:17 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 3:57 am
Posts: 22
madc wrote:
Same message here (LS Live v1, gentoo 2.6.26), but message appearance is random.
With the 2.6.22 kernel I got
Unknown HZ value! (0) Assume 100.


ms


i'm getting this too, anyone have a solution to this? it's very annoying. supposedly it's due to the ridiculously high uptime on the box. i'm not sure why the default uptime is so high for me (and it doesn't change even after the reboot).

Code:
GGenLSPro ~ # uptime
Unknown HZ value! (0) Assume 100.
 07:16:54 up 14226 days, 16 min,  2 users,  load average: 1.11, 1.05, 0.98


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 8:50 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 11:26 am
Posts: 3701
Location: JAPAN
I can only think that USER_HZ is not correct. The error is pushed by procps by incorrect times which is also what uptime is indicating. The actual time is calculated from time in milliseconds/jiffies. The millsecond time is correct as it is the same as hwclock (although x1000 bigger) so this is correct. So it must be a kernel bug/problem, therefore fixable :)

_________________
LS used as PVR and streaming source


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 12:40 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 3:57 am
Posts: 22
upgraded the kernel and now the annoying message is gone :-)

Code:
Processor       : Feroceon rev 0 (v5l)
BogoMIPS        : 265.42
RAM             :  123 MB
Swap            :  964 MB
Uptime          : 12:38:59 up 4 min, 2 users, load average: 0.64, 0.24, 0.1
Logged on as    : root on /dev/pts/1 since Tue Dec 16 12:38:59 PST 2008
Users logged in : root root # users=2

GenLSPro ~ # uname -a
Linux GenLSPro 2.6.27.9 #2 PREEMPT Tue Dec 16 12:19:27 PST 2008 armv5tel Feroceon rev 0 (v5l) Buffalo Linkstation Pro/Live GNU/Linux


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 10:25 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 11:26 am
Posts: 3701
Location: JAPAN
Great.

_________________
LS used as PVR and streaming source


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 12:09 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 11:27 am
Posts: 95
Location: Germany
Hi there,
desidude wrote:
upgraded the kernel and now the annoying message is gone :-)
I'm facing the same problem (still with the 2.6.28 kernel, for which I uploaded fresh ebuilds on the Genlink overlay), and even worse, some programs which parse some output like that of ps for example, do not like that and fail. Could you or anyone with a kernel without this annoying message please share the complete .config file of your upgraded kernel which fixed this issue for you?

Cheers,
Zoolook


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 11:01 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 3:57 am
Posts: 22
would a mod please grant me permission to upload an attachment? thanks


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 11:10 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 11:27 am
Posts: 95
Location: Germany
desidude wrote:
would a mod please grant me permission to upload an attachment? thanks
I think you could paste it in a message here as code, that way, it's both easy to read in thed browser, and to paste it back in a file if needed.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2009 12:18 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 3:57 am
Posts: 22
i tried to paste it twice, and since it's so long, i keep making a mistake. i also tried to paste it to pastebin. it's a huge file with many pages so pasting maybe prone to create errors. i can email it to you.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 8:29 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 11:26 am
Posts: 3701
Location: JAPAN
Cut it up and post in chunks.

_________________
LS used as PVR and streaming source


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 8:51 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 3:57 am
Posts: 22
lb_worm wrote:
Cut it up and post in chunks.


thanks, i emailed it to him.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 10:49 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 11:27 am
Posts: 95
Location: Germany
desidude wrote:
lb_worm wrote:
Cut it up and post in chunks.


thanks, i emailed it to him.
Thanks desidude, now I got 2.6.28 working after few tries. The Unknown HZ value! message still comes up a few times during the boot process and when explicitly running psutils stuff, then after few minutes it seems to go away.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:32 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 3:57 am
Posts: 22
try also upgrading the procps (http://procps.sourceforge.net/procps-3.2.7.tar.gz)


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 9:58 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 11:27 am
Posts: 95
Location: Germany
desidude wrote:
Well, my LSPro Gentoo runs that version of procps (sorry I wrote psutils in my previous post, I was meaning procps) since March 2007, recompiled in September 2008 and now in January 2009. But anyway, the fact that the message stops appearing after a short time now after booting, is fine with me, especially as I rarely reboot or shutdown my LSPro.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited