Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:03 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 134 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 59 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2007 10:08 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 9:44 am
Posts: 1
Hi Guys/gals ...

I have a TS Pro model TS-1.0TGL/R5

I want to enable streaming on this unit so I can access media from my PS3 and or appleTV....

Where do I start ??, am I aiming for DLNA certification on my unit - or is there another way ??

Cheers, any help appreciated.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 10:21 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 6:39 am
Posts: 5
Location: Cyprus
Hmm your in luck I've just done exactly this and it was pretty simple!
BUT it kind of depends on how familiar you are with firmware upgrades and minor hacking, if you are - its easy, if your not then I'd steer clear as its quite possible to break your Terastation doing this. :o

First you need to enable telnet access. http://homepage.ntlworld.com/itimpi/buffalo.htm. Simply update your firmware by following the instructions.

Then you need to install Twonkyvision http://twonkyvision.de/Download/TwonkyMedia/TM4Technicians.html. Thay make it really simple.

Then just set it up using the web page and so long as your internal network is all ok it will just work. There are a few restrictions in what Twonky will serve and what the PS3 will play, so ask again if you get that far and need to know more.
:up:


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 8:20 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 8:17 pm
Posts: 28
I was able to do the above easily..but I then wanted to compare PCast to twonky. When running the pcast install script I got the following.... any ideas what went wrong or how to fix it?

*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************
**************** PCAST upgrade starting ******
*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************


[INFO] Box seems to be a TeraStation Pro
[INFO] Installing PCAST files
tar: : Cannot chdir: No such file or directory
tar: Error is not recoverable: exiting now
cp: cannot stat `/fixes/pcastd': No such file or directory
[INFO] Activating PCAST entry in Web GUI
cp: cannot stat `/fixes/body_side_tspro_pcast.pl': No such file or directory
cp: cannot stat `/fixes/body_side_tspro_pcast.pl': No such file or directory

[INFO] Starting PCAST Daemons

/etc/init.d/httpd stop: httpd stopped
/etc/init.d/httpd start: httpd started

[INFO] Fixing Date/Time display bug at top of PCast menus
cp: copying multiple files, but last argument `/etc/pcast/theme_us/pcast' is not a directory
Try `cp --help' for more information.

[INFO] Installing alternate theme - see README for details
tar: /etc/pcast: Cannot chdir: No such file or directory
tar: Error is not recoverable: exiting now

*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************
****** PCAST upgrade finished ******
*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 8:47 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 5:22 pm
Posts: 1123
Location: United Kingdom
I think there is a bug in the install script.

If when you run the script you give a parameter specifying the root folder it should work. In other words a command of the form:
sh Update_Pcast.sh "/"
should work.

Sorry about that. I will get the install script updated to make that the default.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 9:08 pm 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 8:01 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Germany
itimpi: Once again thanx for help, I had the same error - with your hint it worked fine:

Quote:
[INFO] Box seems to be a TeraStation Pro
[INFO] Stopping PCAST Daemons
[INFO] Installing PCAST files
[INFO] Activating PCAST entry in Web GUI

[INFO] Starting PCAST Daemons

/etc/init.d/httpd stop: httpd stopped
/etc/init.d/httpd start: httpd started

[INFO] Fixing Date/Time display bug at top of PCast menus

[INFO] Installing alternate theme - see README for details

*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************
****** PCAST upgrade finished ******
*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************

root@TERA:~#


@replicant: any comparison news? what is your favourite?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 9:30 pm 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 8:01 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Germany
mh update: the install script worked fine. but theres no running pcastd. when i try to start the deamon manually:

Quote:
root@TERA:/# /etc/init.d/pcastd restart
Stop services: pcastd Scheduler
Scheduler: no process killed
root@TERA:/#



nothing happens. theres also no errorcode in /var/log/messages but one at systemmessages on the terastation frontend:

Feb 4 21:40:16 TERA terastation[2736]: Not started pcastd Scheduler

any tipp?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 10:19 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 5:22 pm
Posts: 1123
Location: United Kingdom
You did remember to enable PCast via the option added to the Web GUI?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 8:30 am 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 8:01 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Germany
itimpi wrote:
You did remember to enable PCast via the option added to the Web GUI?


yes but didnt find any option in the GUI. in which category is that checkbox located? i looked for everywhere but diddnt find it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 9:02 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 5:22 pm
Posts: 1123
Location: United Kingdom
You should have had a new category labelled PCast added to the Web GUI. Clicking on that would bring up the PCast configuration screen. That only happens, however, if you are configured for English as the GUI language - I guess that is not necessarily the case for you - I should add that to the README or work out how to do it for other languages if present.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 9:07 am 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 8:01 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Germany
itimpi wrote:
You should have had a new category labelled PCast added to the Web GUI. Clicking on that would bring up the PCast configuration screen.


no :(

theres no new category. strange thing.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 9:10 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 5:22 pm
Posts: 1123
Location: United Kingdom
Did you notice that I had edited the entry to say that is only true if the web GUI is set to English? I might need to add a section to the README file that says how to configure it bypassing the GUI.

I think that all that is required is to have an entry in the /etc/melco/info file that reads:
pcast = on
(or off you want it to not run)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 9:18 am 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 8:01 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Germany
itimpi wrote:
Did you notice that I had edited the entry to say that is only true if the web GUI is set to English? I might need to add a section to the README file that says how to configure it bypassing the GUI.

I think that all that is required is to have an entry in the /etc/melco/info file that reads:
pcast = on
(or off you want it to not run)



aaaah. me german me not english interface ;)

will try it tonight setting the interface to english and give you an info. thanx man.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 9:48 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 5:22 pm
Posts: 1123
Location: United Kingdom
I am going to see if I can find the german version of the pcast files, and update the install package to include them. I guess you will need them if you want to be able to revert to German while the pcast daemon is running.

Regardless I am going to change the install script to ensure that the setting for pcast has been defaulted to "enabled" after running the install script which will be what most people want.

You might therefore want to look later today to see if I have made an updated pcast package available.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 10:10 am 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 8:01 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Germany
itimpi wrote:
I am going to see if I can find the german version of the pcast files, and update the install package to include them. I guess you will need them if you want to be able to revert to German while the pcast daemon is running.


You dont need to - the original german translation by buffalo isnt that good. i was just to lazy to change the default language to english ;)

for the rest - do so if you want. ;) i'll test it


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 12:03 pm 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 8:01 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Germany
it worked itimpi. i just changed the language to english and the GUI checkbox appeared.

thanx again ;)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 134 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 59 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited