Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Thu Feb 22, 2018 1:23 pm

All times are UTC+01:00

PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 4:56 pm 
Total Newbie

Trying to re-flash a TS-TGL unit. It has been set to a fixed IP of 192.176.1.6

1. It is seen by NAS Navigator, reporting it in EM mode at IP 192.176.1.6, subnet mask 255.255.255.0. Shows the MAC address and that it is a TS-GL/R5 device.

2. Using " I am here" gives "Failed url open. Error Code=12029"

3. Reduced network down to a direct connection of Windows PC via Ethernet, and set the PC IP to 192.176.1.2 and disabled Windows Vista firewall. Even tried Safe Boot to make sure it is disabled.

4. Reset TS-TGL using push switch below display, and then rebooted in EM mode by holding reset switch whilst powering up. Network settings are not returned to factory reset. Dsiplay still shows IP as 192.176.1.6 and the letter F (fixed?)

5. Tried running a forced update. Updater finds unit ok and reports TS-TGL-EM at 192.176.1.6 with subnet mask 255.255.255.0 and correct MAC address.

6. Running update results in a delay and then error message "Terastation can't respond" is shown.

7. Terastation front panel looks fine with link light permananet green and all other out.

I am obviously missing something obvious here and being dumb. Checked the stickies, and they assume that the network settings will be reset to default but that is not happening.

Anyone had this before and how did you get round it?

BTW - can ping the Terastation at 192.176.1.6 in my "limited" network configuration

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 3:17 pm