Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Sat Aug 30, 2014 9:19 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2007 5:44 pm 
Total Newbie

Hi Folks,
I have had quite the week with my Terastation Pro 2.0TB. The machine crashed on Friday and went into EM mode. I contacted the tech support and they advised me to reflash my firmware, which I did. Now the Terastation no longer boots into EM mode (I can access the web interface) but after it says the Kernel is loading it gives an Error E14: Cannot mount RAID Array1. It automatically did a RAID scan and gave no errors other then that. I have done a lot of reading on these forums but can't find anything specific to this problem. Buffalo shipped me a new system as they felt it was an issue with the logic board. I took the drives from the new Terastation and popped them into the old shell to see what would happen and voila! the array mounted. My next step is going to be to put my data drives in the new box (I have to wait until the imaging is finished!) but judging by the fact that the new drives worked fine in the old box I'm not so confident that this will work. I have data on the drives that I really need to recover and fast unfortunately. I am currently imaging the data partition on all four drives just in case something completely screwy happens. I was thinking about taking the four images and restoring them to the data partitions on the new drives if the new box doesn't mount the old drives. Any suggestions or help would be appreciated!

Ken

PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:25 pm 

What you could try is imaging the first (and comapritivel small) partition on each disk which is the system partition and then restoring them to the bad set. That leaves your data on the 3rd partition untouched, and if the problem is due to the system partition may well recover everything to a clean state.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 12:21 am 
Site Admin