Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 4:58 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2011 4:47 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 4:11 pm
Posts: 1
I purchased a Terastation Pro Rack-mounted unit to integrate into AD as a replacement for an antiquated Solaris server running Samba, but as is, the Terastation is not meeting my needs, since the AD implementation used provides shares with the most restrictive sets of permissions when a user is in multiple groups (for instance, granting everyone read access to a share but only a handful of people write access - using 'Domain Users' to grant read access effectively negates anyone having write access), nor does it support setting permissions below the top-level share. This is an academic environment, with a fluid population, so adding and removing people from multiple public shares routinely is not a very attractive option - not with a population of 100 or so and 40+ shares.

I didn't research this quite enough, and expected it would work as I wanted. However, I can't afford to throw out $2k worth of hardware, so I am looking for ways to alter its behavior, and root access to the Terastation is required.

This unit has a dual-core Intel Atom processor as well as a VGA output and USB ports for a keyboard so console access is easy and I can login as 'admin', but not root. After reading a lot of posts involving all manner of approaches to gaining root access, the ACP Commander approach seemed a really clean one.. except that there does not appear to be a java binary on the system. I'd rather not open the unit up and mount disks elsewhere if I can avoid that.

Has anyone else tried hacking one of these units to gain root access? Can anyone offer suggestions as to other approaches to this?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2012 9:07 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 11:28 pm
Posts: 7
not a single reply here ? =(

i am looking for the same answer, and interestingly this is the only place the internetworkz point to =/


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2012 10:46 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 5:22 pm
Posts: 1123
Location: United Kingdom
clegg wrote:
not a single reply here ? =(

i am looking for the same answer, and interestingly this is the only place the internetworkz point to =/

That might be because this has been posted into the section of the forum for PowerPC based TeraStations, and the model in question is Intel Atom based?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 6:50 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 11:28 pm
Posts: 7
where does one post intel atom related questions ?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited