Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 5:02 pm

All times are UTC+01:00

PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 5:06 pm 
Total Newbie

Hi Guys, I am aware from reading lots of topics on this forum that the TS GL/R5 PRO V1 can only support 2TB Partitions and this is because of a limit within the exisitng 2.4 Linux Kernel.
The question I have is - If I installed the 2.6 Kernel via the webinstaller would this remove the 2TB partition limitation, and if not why not?
What are the benefits of going to the 2.6 Kernel on a TS GL/R5 PRO V1 if any.

Thanks.

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 12:55 am 

Which 2.6 kernel?

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 10:01 am 
Total Newbie

The latest one I guess if I followed the information I found in the following location
http://hvkls.dyndns.org/downloads/documentation/README-1st_LIESMICH-zuerst.html

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 10:15 am 

I guess you could try it. It is labelled experimental so I have no idea if it actually works.

Note that it requires a non-SATA drive with a complete root filing system set up on an ext3 filing system (TeraStations normally use XFS) which implies an extra drive for booting purposes. Looking at the example given it appears a USB drive might be appropriate.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2010 8:22 pm 

Where did this go? I am looking at going to a 2.6 kernel because of the partition size limits in 2.4 but the kernel development forum is so confusing its hard to make any sense from what the state is.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2011 11:09 pm 
Total Newbie

I would be interested in trying to get this going with a 2GB usb stick. any ideas on how to boot from the USB stick?

PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2011 12:45 pm 

plastikman wrote:
I would be interested in trying to get this going with a 2GB usb stick. any ideas on how to boot from the USB stick?