Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Tue Jan 23, 2018 8:50 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Foonas on LS2
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2007 12:00 am 
Offline
Betatester
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 4:38 pm
Posts: 941
Location: England
Great Scott!

Image

Image

Image

U-boot is required.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Foonas on LS2
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2007 2:12 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
cool :)

nice work timtim.

very brave Bauldrick :p

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Foonas on LS2
PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 9:05 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 6:11 pm
Posts: 24
Hi guys,

this is amazing to see what can be done with the LS. I reread the several posts on the topic of uboot and foonas and I decided that I would like to give it a try. I have openlink running but got stuck in the early stages. I tried to follow the instructions from here: http://buffalo.nas-central.org/download/LS2_MI ... EUBOOT.TXT and I wonder why I do not see anything in nc (nc -u -p 6666 -v 192.168.1.5 6666). My LS is set to a fixed IP, diffrent to the one mentioned, and when I run the script the LS seems to do something but I can't see what....

Is there any howto yet how to get u-boot and foonas up from the beginning ?

regards
waterman


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Foonas on LS2
PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 10:10 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 6:48 am
Posts: 54
waterman wrote:
My LS is set to a fixed IP


That doesn´t matter. The uboot IP is buit into the image you are running. Your static IP is only relevant after the boot process.
So simply use the default uboot IP when starting netcat.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Foonas on LS2
PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 12:11 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
yes, it should work, but use the default settings to keep things straightforward. There are env settings in uboot that you could change, but you need to get into Uboot first via netcat to change them, IIRC... and so you'll need to bump your workstation addy to the standard 192.168.11.149, as the LS will try to come up on 192.168.11.150. This could involve changing the settings on your network so that things mesh with the 2 ip's listed here...

if you are successful then it will come up something like this...

Code:
192.168.11.150: inverse host lookup failed: 
(UNKNOWN) [192.168.11.150] 6666 (?) open

U-Boot 1.2.0 (Apr 10 2007 - 19:13:32) LinkStation HG / KuroBox HG
stdin :   nc
stdout:   nc
stderr:   nc
IDE:   Bus 0: OK
  Device 0: Model: Maxtor 6L200P0 Firm: BAJ41G20 Ser#: L42C0F8G
            Type: Hard Disk
            Supports 48-bit addressing
            Capacity: 194481.0 MB = 189.9 GB (398297088 x 512)
Boot in 01 seconds ('s' to stop)...
Loading 0:1:boot/uImage

2002073 bytes read

2236 bytes read
## Booting image at 00800000 ...
   Image Name:   Linux-2.6.23.1
   Image Type:   PowerPC Linux Kernel Image (gzip compressed)
   Data Size:    2002009 Bytes =  1.9 MB
   Load Address: 00000000
   Entry Point:  00000000
   Verifying Checksum ... OK
   Uncompressing Kernel Image ... OK
   Booting using flat device tree at 0x7f0000
scsi 0:0:0:0: Direct-Access     ATA      Maxtor 6L200P0   BAJ4 PQ: 0 ANSI: 5
sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] 398297088 512-byte hardware sectors (203928 MB)
...



see this netcat guide if you like...
http://buffalo.nas-central.org/index.php/NetCat ... rk_Utility

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Foonas on LS2
PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 12:27 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:15 am
Posts: 2606
Wait a second... :)

Waterman, did you actually flash UBoot yet?

_________________
LS1 (foonas, nfs, Tranmission & p910nd print server, Firefly for my Roku)
LS-HG500 (Lenny)
Various LS-Pros v1,v2 (unbricked w/ serial & jtag)
KuroPro, LS2 & KuroHG (foonas)
Working on davysweather.dyndns.org lately...

=> wooohooo!
wooohooo!
Unknown command 'wooohooo!' - try 'help'


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Foonas on LS2
PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 7:55 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 6:11 pm
Posts: 24
davy_gravy wrote:
Wait a second... :)

Waterman, did you actually flash UBoot yet?


not at all, I was confused with the IP-Adress. Ok u-boot has a default IP setup which is 192.168.11.150 - which I have to connect to. I'll try the RAM version at first.... not sure I really flash it to RAM as there are problems in other posts with the inability to writh the flash correctly - as I have no JTAG to rescue myself this may be a one way ticket ;-)
waterman


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Foonas on LS2
PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 6:43 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 6:11 pm
Posts: 24
ok, doing things as as described it works... sorry for that:

Code:
U-Boot 1.1.4 LiSt V2 (mips) 1.0.1 (Sep 20 2007 - 00:40:49)
stdin :   nc
stdout:   nc
stderr:   nc
IDE:    Bus 0: ........................OK Bus 1: OK
  Device 0: Model: WDC WD2500BB-22RDA0  Firm: 20.00K20 Ser#: W -DMWNA2K098173
            Type: Hard Disk
            Supports 48-bit addressing
            Capacity: 238475.1 MB = 232.8 GB (488397168 x 512)
Boot in 05 seconds ('s' to stop)...s
Boot in 01 seconds ('s' to stop)...
=> s

=> flinfo
flinfo

Bank # 1: Flash chip: FUJITSU MBM29PL32TM

CFI Query Results:
Primary Vendor Command Set: 0x0002 (AMD/Fujitsu Standard)
Primary Algorithm Table at 0x0040
Alternate Vendor Command Set: 0x0000 (None)
No Alternate Algorithm Table
Vcc Min.: 2.7 V
Vcc Max.: 3.6 V
No Vpp line
Typical byte/word write timeout: 128 us
Maximum byte/word write timeout: 256 us
Typical full buffer write timeout: 128 us
Maximum full buffer write timeout: 4096 us
Typical block erase timeout: 1024 ms
Maximum block erase timeout: 16384 ms
Chip erase not supported
Device size: 0x400000 bytes (4 MiB)
Flash Device Interface description: 0x0002
  - x8 / x16 via BYTE# with asynchronous interface
Max. bytes in buffer write: 32
Number of Erase Block Regions: 2

Actual values used by U-Boot:
Word   write timeout:      2 ms
Buffer write timeout:      5 ms
Sector erase timeout:  16384 ms

Size: 4 MiB in 71 Sectors
  Sector Start Addresses:
    BFC00000 (RO) BFC10000 (RO) BFC20000 (RO) BFC30000 (RO) BFC40000 (RO)
    BFC50000 (RO) BFC60000 (RO) BFC70000 (RO) BFC80000 (RO) BFC90000 (RO)
    BFCA0000 (RO) BFCB0000 (RO) BFCC0000 (RO) BFCD0000 (RO) BFCE0000 (RO)
    BFCF0000 (RO) BFD00000 (RO) BFD10000 (RO) BFD20000 (RO) BFD30000 (RO)
    BFD40000 (RO) BFD50000 (RO) BFD60000 (RO) BFD70000 (RO) BFD80000 (RO)
    BFD90000 (RO) BFDA0000 (RO) BFDB0000 (RO) BFDC0000 (RO) BFDD0000 (RO)
    BFDE0000 (RO) BFDF0000 (RO) BFE00000 (RO) BFE10000 (RO) BFE20000 (RO)
    BFE30000 (RO) BFE40000 (RO) BFE50000 (RO) BFE60000 (RO) BFE70000 (RO)
    BFE80000 (RO) BFE90000 (RO) BFEA0000 (RO) BFEB0000 (RO) BFEC0000 (RO)
    BFED0000 (RO) BFEE0000 (RO) BFEF0000 (RO) BFF00000 (RO) BFF10000 (RO)
    BFF20000 (RO) BFF30000 (RO) BFF40000 (RO) BFF50000 (RO) BFF60000 (RO)
    BFF70000 (RO) BFF80000 (RO) BFF90000 (RO) BFFA0000 (RO) BFFB0000 (RO)
    BFFC0000 (RO) BFFD0000 (RO) BFFE0000 (RO) BFFF0000 (RO) BFFF2000 (RO)
    BFFF4000 (RO) BFFF6000 (RO) BFFF8000 (RO) BFFFA000 (RO) BFFFC000 (RO)
    BFFFE000 (RO)
=>



so u-boot is running but my main questions are, Is it save to flash with this chips ?When installing u-boot, will my current openlink still work and boot ? and finally what features are currently available for foonas. I need samba and nfs and something like avr_evtd daemon...

is this are damm questions please point me to the right direction.

thanks
waterman


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Foonas on LS2
PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2007 7:59 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 6:48 am
Posts: 54
linuxnotincluded wrote:
The first half, from 0xbfc00000 to 0xbfdfffff should flash without any problems.

So flashing u-boot should be completely save since it resides at the very beginning of the flash area and will never go to the second half of the flash.
Me and some other flashed u-boot using "run upgrade" from the RAM build without having problems.

waterman wrote:
When installing u-boot, will my current openlink still work and boot ?

AFAIK and based on reports from this forum, kernels 2.4 and 2.6 and all distributions based on them work with u-boot.
Problems arise if you would upgrade to Debian Lenny and still want to use kernel 2.4, but this is not in scope of the current OpenLink versions and has nothing to do with u-boot.

waterman wrote:
I need samba and nfs and something like avr_evtd daemon...

I´m using foonas-em only as an emergency system, but based on notes from http://www.foonas.org/ and this forum, everything you require should be possible. Personally I can confirm, that even foonas-em has avr_evtd support which means that the LS does not reboot after a few minutes. But currently there is a problem using the buttons (power button, reset button) of the box with kernel 2.6. This will freeze the LS immediately (not related to u-boot).


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Foonas on LS2
PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2007 4:30 pm 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 4:02 am
Posts: 4
I also have installed foonas successfully.It's fantastic!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Foonas on LS2
PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2007 4:44 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 10:40 am
Posts: 434
Location: Scotland
If anyone experiences loss of networking after reboot/startup, try the following.

Boot into EM Mode. (3 clicks of the button or run bootcmd3 in u-boot)
Once in EM Mode:
Code:
cd /mnt/
mkdir helpme
mount /dev/hda1 /helpme
rm /mnt/helpme/var/run/ifstate
rm /mnt/helpme/var/run/smbd.pid
rm /mnt/helpme/var/run/nmbd.pid
rm /mnt/helpme/var/run/sshd.pid

Power off you box & restart as normal.

_________________
LS-500GL - Diskless
LS-250GL - Armel, U-Boot NC Enabled
HS-DH320GL - Stock 1.11_1a
LS-H120LAN(PPC) - Dev (foonas)
LS-H120LAN(PPC) - Freelink - 2.6.23.8
LS-H250LAN(MIPS) - Dev (foonas-em, foonas)
LS-HS400DGL(PPC) - Freelink
Thecus N1200 - Ubuntu 8.10


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Foonas on LS2
PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2007 6:32 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:19 am
Posts: 7703
Location: Austria, Vienna
couldn`t that be implemented somehow in the foonas startup scripts? timtim?

_________________
LS1 (2.6 kernel, foonas svn1062, 750 GB, UBoot 1.2) & LS Pro (FreeLink/jtymod/GenLink, changes all the time)
Thx to all donators!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Foonas on LS2
PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 3:28 am 
Offline
Total Newbie

Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 4:02 am
Posts: 4
I found smbd cannot be started. "ps -e" shows there is no smbd. I tried to start the smbd manually, but it exits immediately.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Foonas on LS2
PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 8:36 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 10:40 am
Posts: 434
Location: Scotland
hanray wrote:
I found smbd cannot be started. "ps -e" shows there is no smbd. I tried to start the smbd manually, but it exits immediately.

It's already on the bugtracker.

_________________
LS-500GL - Diskless
LS-250GL - Armel, U-Boot NC Enabled
HS-DH320GL - Stock 1.11_1a
LS-H120LAN(PPC) - Dev (foonas)
LS-H120LAN(PPC) - Freelink - 2.6.23.8
LS-H250LAN(MIPS) - Dev (foonas-em, foonas)
LS-HS400DGL(PPC) - Freelink
Thecus N1200 - Ubuntu 8.10


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Foonas on LS2
PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 7:58 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 6:11 pm
Posts: 24
ok, u-boot is booting, not yet flashed, but I do not get it managed to load any kernel.

I have the kernels vmlinux-2.6.22.gz as well as vmlinuz in /boot, but u-boot is not booting them. I have the libs in /lib/modules/2.6.22.ls2. When I issue "set hdfile /boot/vmlinux-2.6.22.gz " and then boot, u-boot is booting the kernel, it takes a while for the LS to come back and give me a terminal but a dmesg still shows 2.4.20_mipsel_linkstation.

Also trying to boot foonas-em http://downloads.foonas.org/foonas-em/beta3/lsmipsel/ is not working. What am I doing wrong ?

thanks for your help
waterman


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited