Buffalo NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the Linkstation Wiki community
It is currently Fri Nov 17, 2017 11:54 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 8:42 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 74
Location: Germany
when i do a:
root@LINKSTATION:/# apt-get install webmin
...
everything looks ok first, but in the end i get this error:
...
Setting up webmin (1.180-3) ...
miniserv.pem: No such file or directory
hostname: Unknown host
dpkg: error processing webmin (--configure):
subprocess post-installation script returned error exit status 1
Errors were encountered while processing:
webmin
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)
-------------
miniserv.pem is a certificate needed for https. i don't want https for the moment but file seems to be essential somehow.

no idea why i get this Unknown host error:

root@LINKSTATION:/etc# hostname
LINKSTATION

any suggestions?

update:
i found out where miniserv.pem should go to
usr/share/webmin/miniserv.pem (according to debian packages content)
and there it is:
root@freelink:/# find / -name "miniserv.pem"
/usr/share/webmin/miniserv.pem
but according /etc/webin/miniserv.conf it should be in other place:
...
keyfile=/etc/webmin/miniserv.pem libwrap=1 alwaysresolve=1
....
the best solution is imho to copy miniserv.pem to /etc/webmin/, followed by editing /etc/hosts: add your IP adress and hostname to this file. repeat apt-get install. everything should be ok now.

------------
LS2, debian stable


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:28 pm 
Offline
Betatester
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 4:38 pm
Posts: 941
Location: England
I think it was a few updates and then

pico /etc/webmin/miniserv.conf

but I definately had the same errors as you


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 7:30 am 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:26 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Gloucestershire, UK
The reason that things are failing is that 'hostname -f' fails.

As I am using a static IP, what I needed to do to fix that was to add my ip & name to /etc/hosts - I imagine that if I'd been using dhcp then the dns would have been set to the dhcp server and that would have resolved it.

I think the miniserv.pem not being there is OK & will automagically be created when samba's run later...


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited